Home | 


Approved May 23, 2000 - Stormwater Task Force Minutes


May 23, 2000

The Santa Rosa County Stormwater Task Force met on the above date with the following members present: Chairman Geoffrey Maddux, Alan Miller, Frances Dunham, John Harper, Jack Sanborn, Debbie Dawsey and Dr. Enid Sisskin. County Administrator Hunter Walker and County Engineer Roger Blaylock were also present. Mark Cotton and Vernon Compton were absent. Chairman Maddux called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

Maddux moved for approval of April 18, 2000 minutes, which was seconded by Harper and carried by unanimous vote.

Dr. Joe Lepo, microbiologist with the University of West Florida for Environmental Diagnostic and Bioremediation was present and has decided to sit in and be part of the board as a technical/research assistant. Dr. Lepo helped the Escambia County Stormwater Task Force as their technical/research assistant and technical writer.

Dr. Lepo shared with the board issues he felt important in setting and achieving goals. Dr. Lepo handed out a rough outline of things for the board to keep in mind. Discussion occurred concerning the goals of the board. Dr. Lepo also handed out some storm water runoff issues. Dr. Lepo asked the board to come up with individual objectives that the board could discuss and put in order of most important to least important. See attached hand-outs.

Don Chinery, The Sentinel and Gulf Coast Network, was present and informed the board that the meeting would be publicized in their publications.

The board decided to have Ron Martell or Paul Sharpe of the Water Management District to speak at the June 13, 2000 meeting.

The board discussed having meetings more often than once and month and decided to try to have meetings every three weeks.

The next meeting, as previously mentioned, will be June 13, 2000 at 5:00 p.m. Meeting adjourned at 6:41 p.m.