Home | 


Approved Dec 5, 2000 - Stormwater Task Force Minutes


December 5, 2000

The Santa Rosa County Stormwater Task Force met on the above date with the following members present: Chairman Geoffrey Maddux, Steve Duncan, John Harper, Vernon Compton, Frances Dunham, Dr. Enid Sisskin, Debbie Dawsey, Jack Sanborn and Alan Miller. Also present was Hunter Walker, County Administrator; Roger Blaylock, County Engineer; Kristen Andersen, Planning and Zoning Director; and Dr. Joe Lepo. Carla Cook, who will be taking Mark Cotton's seat on the board, was also present. Vice Chairman Duncan called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

Harper moved approval of the October 24, 2000 minutes, which was seconded by Sisskin and carried by unanimous vote.

Vernon Compton of the Nature Conservancy was present and gave a presentation titled "An Inexpensive Stormwater Management Solution." The presentation consisted of stormwater benefits of urban frees and green spaces, a video by American Forests, titled "Cities by Natures Design," and local tree challenges and solutions in this area. Discussion took place among board members and Compton. Board members asked Compton for the presentation to be printed or emailed to the board members.

Michael Bomar, Hartman an4 Associates, who is working on a project with the county commissioners for the Industrial Park, and who is also helping to prepare a stormwater master plan for Walton County, was in town and sat in on the meeting to get an idea of where Santa Rosa County is with their stormwater master plan. Commissioner Dawsey informed Bomar of the meeting.

Blaylock distributed a handout titled "Improving Water Quality Through the Extended Use of Vegetative Covers," for information purposes. See attached.

The next meetings are scheduled for Monday, December 18, 2000, and Monday, January 15, 2001.

Meeting adjourned at 6:29 p.m.