SAFER Santa Rosa: Safe Communites


Safe Communities America Designation

The Safe Communities America designation is awarded to communities that have demonstrated leadership in promoting safety, reducing injuries, and preparing their citizens for natural and man-made disasters.

The SAFE communities program is operated by the National Safety Council whose mission and vision are:

  • Mission - Educate and influence people to prevent accidental injury and death
  • Vision - Making our world safer

The goal of the SAFE Communities program is to:

  • To reach the greatest number of people
  • With the highest level of impact
  • To reduce injuries and promote safety in local communities

Currently there are only three counties in the UNITED STATES with the SAFE Communities designation.
Who should be involved?

  • Chambers of Commerce
  • Public health groups
  • Medical associations
  • Citizen groups
  • Emergency services
  • Law enforcement
  • Educational institutions
  • Business and service groups
  • Public works
  • Safety advocates
  • Government agencies
  • Media

If the above list looks familiar it is because that is the same involvement we have with SAFER Santa Rosa.
The REAL question is; Why would a community want to be a Safe Community?

  • Community pride
  • To encourage people and families to move into their community
  • To reduce the incidence and cost of injury and promote health in their community (based on local data)
  • Feel you can make a difference
  • Want to improve the quality of life for yourself and your community
  • Opportunity to influence political, corporate, and community direction
  • Opportunity to participate in an international, national, community-based movement
  • To save lives!

Add the SAFE Communities designation to our great schools and quality of life and we have an economic draw as well as a sales pitch for local businesses.

What we need to do is expand and promote all the safety programs in our county. If you can add to this list send an email to