Animal Control

Most Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) List

 

1.How do I report a vicious/aggressive animal in my neighborhood?

Call the Animal Services Department at 850-983-4680.

2.How do I adopt a pet from Santa Rosa County Animal Services?

Select an animal off our web site, call to make sure the animal is still available or come into the shelter and select one of our adoption pets. Once you have selected a pet to adopt you will have to complete an adoption application. You can obtain an application off our website or in our office. There will be a 24 hour waiting period after your application is submitted.

3.What is the cost of an adoption?

The cost is $35, county residents, $40 for out of county residents if the animal is not already altered, both include a $15 refundable spay/neuter deposit when contract agreement is met and receipt is returned to us within 2 weeks. If the animal is already altered the total cost is $30.

4.†† How long does it take to get my deposit back?

Approximately 2-3 weeks after we receive your proof of spay/ neuter you will receive a check by mail from the finance department.

5.Can I get a refund if I return the animal to the shelter?

Yes, if it is returned within seven days you can get a refund of the adoption fee except for a $10.00 service fee. If it is for an illness there has to be a statement from a veterinarian.

6.Who is responsible for the cost of spaying/ neutering and rabies vaccination?

The adopter.

 

7.Do I have to get the animal spayed or neutered, if so why?

Yes, the Legislature has determined that uncontrolled breeding of dogs and cats in the state results in the production of many more puppies and kittens than are needed to replace pet animals which have died or become lost or to provide pet animals for new owners. This leads to many dogs, cats, puppies, and kittens being unwanted, becoming strays and suffering privation and death, being impounded and destroyed at great expense to the community, and constituting a public health hazard, therefore Florida State Statute 823.15 requires that every dog or cat sold or released for adoption from any public or private animal shelter or animal control agency operated by a humane society or by a county, city, or other incorporated political subdivision be sterilized.

8.At what age is my pet required to be spayed or neutered?

6 months.

9.At what age should rabies vaccination be given? Can I administer the shot at home?

Rabies vaccination at 4 months, all dogs, cats, and ferrets must be vaccinated by a licensed veterinarian.

10.What if I fail to get the adopted animal spayed or neutered?

According to Florida Statute # 775.08(3) Failure to comply is a noncriminal violation punishable by a fine, forfeiture, or other civil penalty, and in addition forfeiture of deposit. Any legal fees or court costs used for enforcement is the responsibility of the adopter.

11.What type of animals do Santa Rosa County Animal Services offer for adoption?

Normally dogs and cats. When available we also offer ferrets, hamsters, guinea pigs, rabbits, pigs, birds.

12.What if I come in and you donít have a specific pet that Iím looking for?

We have a wish list where you can leave your name and phone # and we will notify you when we get a pet youíre interested in.

13.Do you give any shots to the animals before adoption?

Yes, we give the parvo/distemper booster and a wormer that kills hookworms and roundworms.

14.Can we bring in our animal(s) to see if it and our potential new pet get along?

Yes.