The purpose of the Licensing Division is to ensure that contractors are properly licensed and registered for specific trades.
Competency Card Renewals
All competency card holders, active and inactive, must renew biennially. Biennial renewals expire on October 1st of every odd year. Competency cards not renewed are subject to late fees.
Renewals received on or before September 30th are $200.00 for active status and $100.00 for inactive status. Renewals received after September 30th will incur a $50.00 late fee for the first 30 days of delinquency. After 30 days, the late fee increases to match the original renewal fee. Payment can be made via cash, check, or credit/debit card. All card payments do incur a 3.5% processing fee.
Please provide the following documentation for renewal:
1. A copy of your current State of Florida Registration (DBPR)
2. A copy of your current Florida Business Tax Receipt
3. A certificate of insurance for General Liability and Worker’s Comp
Documents can be submitted in person, by mail, or by email to Contractor Licensing. Please be sure all documents are submitted together with payment. If you choose to come into the office, we encourage you to make an appointment using our online booking calendar.
What Happens if You Don't Renew:
It is important for you to know that if you are not going to renew your competency card, you should strongly consider placing the card in an inactive status. The cost for an inactive status is $100 per two-year term. You may hold the inactivate status for three consecutive renewal periods for a total of six years. You will need to make your license active at the end of the six years.
If you do not renew or inactivate your Santa Rosa County competency card, you run the risk of having to retest for both your trade and Business and Law. Retesting is much more expensive than inactivation. The Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation will issue your Registered Contractor’s License only if you carry a current competency card from your local jurisdiction. Failing to have a current competency card may jeopardize your “active” status with the State of Florida. As a reminder, the State will still require that you maintain your CEU's during any inactive period.
State Certified Contractors
State Certified Contractors are not issued a Competency Card but are required to register their license in Santa Rosa County to contract work.