Fair Housing

Santa Rosa County's Fair Housing Ordinance, the Florida Fair Housing Act and the Federal Fair Housing Act make it illegal for anyone to refuse to rent, sell, or make a housing loan because of the following factors:

  • Race or color
  • National Origin
  • Religion
  • Gender
  • Familial status
  • Disability
  • Age (provided the person has the capacity to contract)
  • Military Status
  • Marital Status

Based upon the above-listed factors (also known as "protected classes"), it is against the law to:

  • Refuse to rent or sell housing.
  • Falsely deny that housing is available for inspection, sale or rental.
  • Show apartments or homes in certain neighborhoods only.
  • Advertise housing to preferred groups of people only.
  • Refuse to provide information regarding mortgage loans, deny a mortgage loan, or impose different terms or conditions on a mortgage loan.
  • Deny property insurance.
  • Conduct property appraisals in a discriminatory manner.
  • Refuse to make certain modifications or accommodations for persons with a mental or physical disability, including persons recovering from alcohol and substance abuse, and HIV/AIDS-related illnesses.
  • Fail to design and construct housing in an accessible manner.
  • Harass, coerce, intimidate, or interfere with anyone exercising or assisting others with their fair housing rights.

If you feel that you have been discriminated against for any of the above reasons, please contact one of the following agencies to file a complaint:

Florida Commission on Human Relations
4075 Esplanade Way #110, Tallahassee, FL 32399
850-488-7082 or 1-800-342-8170

U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development Fair Housing & Equal Opportunity
US Department of Housing & Urban Development Atlanta Regional Office
Five Points Plaza
40 Marietta St, 16th Floor
Atlanta, GA 30303
1-800-669-9777 or 1-800-927-9275 for TTY