News Flash Home
The original item was published from 7/11/2023 12:32:53 PM to 7/26/2023 12:00:02 AM.

News Flash

News Releases

Posted on: July 11, 2023

[ARCHIVED] Commissioners Wright and Eddington Earn the Certified County Commissioner Designation

Santa Rosa County Commissioners Colten Wright (District 5) and Ray Eddington (District 4) were presented with the Certified County Commissioner (CCC) designation from the Institute for County Government (ICG) at an award ceremony held at the Florida Association of Counties (FAC) Annual Conference and Educational Exposition in Orange County, Florida.  

The CCC designation is a voluntary program of study designed for county commissioners to learn information and enhance skills relevant to their duties and responsibilities as an elected official. 

"I’m proud to have completed the Certified County Commissioner program," said Commission Chairman Colten Wright, District 5. "It has helped give me a solid foundation and will better equip me to serve the residents of Santa Rosa County. I appreciate the Florida Association of Counties and the many instructors and facilitators that helped create the curriculum."

“As a newly sitting commissioner, the Certified County Commissioner (CCC) training has enabled me to learn more about the day-to-day responsibilities, governing rules, and regulations as well as responsibilities of a commissioner," said Commissioner Ray Eddington, District 4. "I feel that the knowledge gained through taking the course of action has better equipped me to be an effective commissioner for the constituents of Santa Rosa County. I highly recommend every commissioner participate in the CCC program. It is a great learning opportunity and will enrich your time serving the county.”

The CCC educational program is an initiative comprising 45 hours of coursework. This program's curriculum encompasses a diverse range of courses, such as growth management, financial management, and ethics, as well as elective courses such as affordable housing, emergency management, and resiliency.

“Due to the voluntary nature of the CCC program, a commissioner who dedicates themselves and their time is making a profound commitment to their community,” shared Eric Poole, the Executive Director of the Institute for County Government. “Their pursuit reflects their determination to challenging themselves to be the most effective public servant possible.”

Alongside Commissioners Wright and Eddington, 20 commissioners earned the CCC designation at the FAC award ceremony. A total of 554 commissioners have graduated from the program since its inception in 1996.

The CCC program is made possible through a continuing partnership with the University of Florida/IFAS Extension, located in all 67 counties in the State of Florida. 

To learn more about ICG and the CCC designation, please visit

# # #

Founded in 1929, the Florida Association of Counties has represented the diverse interests of Florida’s counties, emphasizing the importance of protecting home rule – the concept that communities and their local leaders should make the decisions that impact their community. The Florida Association of Counties helps Florida’s counties effectively serve and represent their communities through Advocacy, Collaboration, and Education. 

Facebook Twitter Email